SDCC Flight Team - "SDCC Flight Team competes at SAFECON 2011 Region II Championships"
> SDCC Flight Team: SDCC Flight Team competes at SAFECON 2011 Region II Championships

SDCC Flight Team competes at SAFECON 2011 Region II Championships

 Permanent link   All Posts

Hosted by Mt. San Antonio College 


Monday January 10, 2011

The 2011 PCIFA SAFECON Airmeet is being held at Brackett Airport (KPOC) January 13, 2011 to January 16, 2011. SDCC pilots left Gillespie Field this afternoon to pre-position for two training days prior to beginning of competition on Thursday morning. Six pilots flew our Cessna 172 (N5291E), a Piper Warrior PA-28 (N40963) and a Cessna 152 for competition, and ferried a Piper Dakota with supplies and team members to KPOC which is near Pomona CA.

PCIFA SAFECON (Safety and Flight Evaluation Conference) is an annual regional aviation competition for colleges and universities in the Western U.S. - Students will compete in five flight events and six academic events. SDCC Flight Team is 17 strong this semester and our pilots have been working very hard, even coming back to school early from semester break to practice.

The top two colleges from the Regional SAFECON will receive an invitation to the National SAFECON hosted by The Ohio State University in May 2011. In years past there have been 3 slots allocated to our region for national championships. SDCC has earned a bid to national's the past two years in a row. With one less slot available, competition will be fierce.

Colleges attending the PCIFA SAFECON include: Mt. San Antonio College, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Cypress College, San Diego Christian College, San Jose State University, United States Air Force Academy.

We will be posting pictures, descriptions and accounts of our competition this week – thanks for joining us!

Flight Team 2011

(from left to right)

Front Row: Jackson Judge, Randi Cavalier, Shon Northcutt, Jenna Sims, Frank Razo, Aaron Varela (Team Captain) John Crotts and Kyle Mayhugh

Back Row: Phillip Dolton, Aaron Penney, Paul Martin, Sean Conlan, Dylan Jones, Stephen Henry, Clayton Hawley, Denny Breslin (Team Coach/Advisor) Not pictured: Ryan Wagner


Bookmark and Share